Case-IH 5130 Maxxum or Case-IH 5230 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 5130 Maxxum has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 5230 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH 5130 Maxxum and Case-IH 5230 (DT), with the call on each
Question5130 Maxxum5230 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?73.5 kW (98.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5130”72.8 kW (97.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 5130 Maxxum has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 5230 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5130 Maxxum and the 5230 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 5130 Maxxum and the 5230 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?72.4 L/min (19.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5130”75.3 L/min (19.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?—4,477 kg (9,870 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 5130 Maxxum.
Which is heavier, for traction?5,035 kg (11,100 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5130”4,480 kg (9,877 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH 5130 Maxxum is 12% heavier (555 kg / 1,224 lb) than the Case-IH 5230 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?7,800 kg (17,196 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5130”—No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 5230 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?16 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5130”16 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5130 Maxxum and the 5230 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5130”25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5130”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?—independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 5130 Maxxum.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5130”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5230”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1989–19971989–1997EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH 5130 Maxxum is 12% heavier (555 kg / 1,224 lb) than the Case-IH 5230 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 5130 Maxxum has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 5230 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources