BOLINDER-MUNKTELL BM-35/BM-36 or Volvo T-36?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for BOLINDER-MUNKTELL BM-35/BM-36 and Volvo T-36, with the call on each
QuestionBM-35/BM-36T-36Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?25.7 kW (35 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Bolinder-Munktell BM 35/36”25.7 kW (35 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Volvo T 36”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the BM-35/BM-36 and the T-36.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the BM-35/BM-36 and the T-36.
Which pumps more oil for implements?23.8 L/min (6.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Bolinder-Munktell BM 35/36”23.8 L/min (6.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Volvo T 36”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?850 kg (1,874 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Bolinder-Munktell BM 35/36”850 kg (1,874 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Volvo T 36”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,450 kg (5,401 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Bolinder-Munktell BM 35/36”2,450 kg (5,401 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Volvo T 36”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the BM-35/BM-36 and the T-36.
Which has the wider choice of gears?5Traktorenlexikon, “Bolinder-Munktell BM 35/36”5Traktorenlexikon, “Volvo T 36”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the BM-35/BM-36 and the T-36.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Bolinder-Munktell BM 35/36”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Volvo T 36”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Bolinder-Munktell BM 35/36”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Volvo T 36”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the BM-35/BM-36 and the T-36.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Bolinder-Munktell BM 35/36”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Volvo T 36”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1952–19591952–1959EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources