ALLIS-CHALMERS ED-40 or Renault R 55?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Renault R 55: three-point lift. On features, the ALLIS-CHALMERS ED-40 is ahead on top speed.

  • The Renault R 55 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 84% (820 kg / 1,808 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The ALLIS-CHALMERS ED-40 suits road haulage better on this data: 25% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for ALLIS-CHALMERS ED-40 and Renault R 55, with the call on each
QuestionED-40R 55Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?22.4 kW (30.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers ED 40”22.1 kW (29.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 55 R7231”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the ED-40 and the R 55.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the ED-40 and the R 55.
Which pumps more oil for implements?22.7 L/min (6.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers ED 40”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the R 55.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?980 kg (2,161 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers ED 40”1,800 kg (3,968 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 55 R7231”AheadThe Renault R 55 has 84% more lift (820 kg / 1,808 lb) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS ED-40 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?1,685 kg (3,715 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers ED 40”1,810 kg (3,990 lb) to 2,030 kg (4,475 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 55 R7231”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the ED-40 and the R 55.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers ED 40”6 to 10Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 55 R7231”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the ED-40 and the R 55.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers ED 40”20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 55 R7231”AheadThe ALLIS-CHALMERS ED-40 has 25% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Renault R 55 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers ED 40”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 55 R7231”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 55 R7231”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the ED-40.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers ED 40”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 55 R7231”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1960–19681967–Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Renault R 55 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Renault R 55 has 84% more lift (820 kg / 1,808 lb) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS ED-40 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The ALLIS-CHALMERS ED-40 has 25% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Renault R 55 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The Renault R 55 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources