ALLIS-CHALMERS Modell-U or John Deere Model A?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Modell-U has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for ALLIS-CHALMERS Modell-U and John Deere Model A, with the call on each
QuestionModell-UModel ACall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?19.1 kW (25.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U”18.4 kW (24.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Modell-U has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the Model A.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the Model A.
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the Model A.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the Model A.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,187 kg (4,822 lb) to 2,282 kg (5,031 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U”1,841 kg (4,059 lb) to 2,715 kg (5,986 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the Model A.
Which has the wider choice of gears?3 to 4Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U”4 to 6Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Modell-U and the Model A.
Which is faster on the road?8.0 km/h (5.0 mph) to 17.3 km/h (10.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U”10 km/h (6.2 mph) to 20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?530 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U”546 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the Modell-U and the Model A.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Modell-U.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1929–19521934–1952Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere Model A is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere Model A is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Modell-U has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources