ALLIS-CHALMERS Modell-U or HELA L 25?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Modell-U has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the L 25 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The HELA L 25 suits road haulage better on this data: 12% (2.1 km/h / 1.3 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | Modell-U | L 25 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 19.1 kW (25.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U” | 18.2 kW (24.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “HELA L 25 Holzgas” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Modell-U has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the L 25 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the L 25. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the L 25. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the L 25. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the L 25. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,187 kg (4,822 lb) to 2,282 kg (5,031 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U” | 2,200 kg (4,850 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “HELA L 25 Holzgas” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Modell-U and the L 25. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 3 to 4Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U” | 4Traktorenlexikon, “HELA L 25 Holzgas” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Modell-U and the L 25. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 8.0 km/h (5.0 mph) to 17.3 km/h (10.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U” | 19.4 km/h (12.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “HELA L 25 Holzgas” | AheadThe HELA L 25 has 12% more top speed (2.1 km/h / 1.3 mph) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS Modell-U (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 530 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “HELA L 25 Holzgas” | No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the Modell-U. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Modell-U and the L 25. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers Modell U” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “HELA L 25 Holzgas” | EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1929–1952 | 1942–1944 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The HELA L 25 is newer: production began 13 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The HELA L 25 has 12% more top speed (2.1 km/h / 1.3 mph) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS Modell-U (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- The HELA L 25 is newer: production began 13 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Modell-U has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the L 25 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources