ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 or SOMECA 1280 (TD)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 210 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1280 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The SOMECA 1280 (TD) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 73% (1,988 kg / 4,383 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The SOMECA 1280 (TD) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 and SOMECA 1280 (TD), with the call on each
Question2101280 (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?91.9 kW (123.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 210”90.5 kW (121.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1280”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 210 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1280 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 210 and the 1280 (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 210 and the 1280 (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?62.5 L/min (16.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 210”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1280 (TD).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,722 kg (6,001 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 210”4,710 kg (10,384 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1280”AheadThe SOMECA 1280 (TD) has 73% more lift (1,988 kg / 4,383 lb) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?5,636 kg (12,425 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 210”5,450 kg (12,015 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1280”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 210 and the 1280 (TD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 210”12 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1280”AheadThe SOMECA 1280 (TD) has 50% more forward gears (4 gears) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 210 and the 1280 (TD).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 210”25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1280”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 210”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1280”AheadThe SOMECA 1280 (TD) offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1280”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 210.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 210”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1280”AheadThe SOMECA 1280 (TD) is available with four-wheel drive; the ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1970–19721979–1983Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SOMECA 1280 (TD) is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SOMECA 1280 (TD) has 73% more lift (1,988 kg / 4,383 lb) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The SOMECA 1280 (TD) has 50% more forward gears (4 gears) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The SOMECA 1280 (TD) offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The SOMECA 1280 (TD) is available with four-wheel drive; the ALLIS-CHALMERS 210 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The SOMECA 1280 (TD) is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 210 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1280 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources