ALLIS-CHALMERS 190 or John Deere 3020?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 190 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for ALLIS-CHALMERS 190 and John Deere 3020, with the call on each
Question1903020Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?55.9 kW (75.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 190”55.2 kW (74.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 190 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 190 and the 3020.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 190 and the 3020.
Which pumps more oil for implements?45.4 L/min (12.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 190”68.0 L/min (18.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”AheadThe John Deere 3020 has 50% more hydraulic flow (22.6 L/min / 6.0 gpm) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS 190 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,086 kg (4,599 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 190”1,800 kg (3,968 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”AheadThe ALLIS-CHALMERS 190 has 16% more lift (286 kg / 631 lb) than the John Deere 3020 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?3,477 kg (7,665 lb) to 3,558 kg (7,844 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 190”3,426 kg (7,553 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?—5,020 kg (11,067 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 190.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 190”8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 190 and the 3020.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 190”20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 190”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?——No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 190 and the 3020.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Allis-Chalmers 190”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1964–19731964–1972EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 3020 has 50% more hydraulic flow (22.6 L/min / 6.0 gpm) than the ALLIS-CHALMERS 190 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The ALLIS-CHALMERS 190 has 16% more lift (286 kg / 631 lb) than the John Deere 3020 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 190 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources