Agco RT-120 A or Case-IH MXM 140 Maxxum?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the RT-120 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the MXM 140 Maxxum has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Case-IH MXM 140 Maxxum suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 18% (18.7 L/min / 4.9 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Agco RT-120 A and Case-IH MXM 140 Maxxum, with the call on each
QuestionRT-120 AMXM 140 MaxxumCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?105.2 kW (141.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO RT 120 A”105.9 kW (142.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the RT-120 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the MXM 140 Maxxum has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the RT-120 A and the MXM 140 Maxxum.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the RT-120 A and the MXM 140 Maxxum.
Which pumps more oil for implements?102.8 L/min (27.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO RT 120 A”121.5 L/min (32.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”AheadThe Case-IH MXM 140 Maxxum has 18% more hydraulic flow (18.7 L/min / 4.9 gpm) than the Agco RT-120A (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?—7,066 kg (15,578 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the RT-120 A.
Which is heavier, for traction?6,033 kg (13,300 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO RT 120 A”5,868 kg (12,937 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?—9,000 kg (19,842 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the RT-120 A.
Which has the wider choice of gears?Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO RT 120 A”18 to 28 forwardTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”DifferTransmissions differ in kind: the Agco RT-120A is stepless (CVT) and the Case-IH MXM 140 Maxxum has 18 to 28 forward gears — not called.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the RT-120 A and the MXM 140 Maxxum.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO RT 120 A”40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO RT 120 A”540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO RT 120 A”independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO RT 120 A”; OECD test report 2412, 20084WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM140”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2006–20112002–2007EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH MXM 140 Maxxum has 18% more hydraulic flow (18.7 L/min / 4.9 gpm) than the Agco RT-120A (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Transmissions differ in kind: the Agco RT-120A is stepless (CVT) and the Case-IH MXM 140 Maxxum has 18 to 28 forward gears — not called.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the RT-120 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the MXM 140 Maxxum has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources