Agco DT-250 B or John Deere 8430?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the DT-250 B has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8430 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Agco DT-250 B and John Deere 8430, with the call on each
QuestionDT-250 B8430Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?213.3 kW (286.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 250 B”217.1 kW (291.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the DT-250 B has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8430 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the DT-250 B and the 8430.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the DT-250 B and the 8430.
Which pumps more oil for implements?105.5 L/min (27.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 250 B”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 8430.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?11,156 kg (24,595 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 250 B”11,762 kg (25,931 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?11,720 kg (25,838 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 250 B”11,260 kg (24,824 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?—14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the DT-250 B.
Which has the wider choice of gears?Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 250 B”Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on gears: every machine is stepless.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the DT-250 B and the 8430.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 250 B”40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 250 B”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?——No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the DT-250 B and the 8430.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 250 B”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2009–20102006–2009EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on gears: every machine is stepless.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the DT-250 B has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8430 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources