Agco DT-240 A or Case-IH Magnum 280?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the DT-240 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Magnum 280 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The Case-IH Magnum 280 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 19% (26.2 L/min / 6.9 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | DT-240 A | Magnum 280 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 213.3 kW (286.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | 205.2 kW (275 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Magnum 280” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the DT-240 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Magnum 280 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the DT-240 A and the Magnum 280. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the DT-240 A and the Magnum 280. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 139.8 L/min (36.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | 166 L/min (43.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Magnum 280” | AheadThe Case-IH Magnum 280 has 19% more hydraulic flow (26.2 L/min / 6.9 gpm) than the Agco DT-240 A (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 6,644 kg (14,648 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Magnum 280. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 9,240 kg (20,371 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | 12,900 kg (28,440 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Magnum 280” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH Magnum 280 is 40% heavier (3,660 kg / 8,069 lb) than the Agco DT-240 A (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Magnum 280. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | 19 forwardOECD test report 2979, 2016 | DifferTransmissions differ in kind: the Agco DT-240 A is stepless (CVT) and the Case-IH Magnum 280 has 19 forward gears — not called. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the DT-240 A and the Magnum 280. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Magnum 280” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000/540E rpmTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Magnum 280” | Sources disagreeNo call on PTO speeds: sources disagree on the PTO speeds of the Magnum 280. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the DT-240 A and the Magnum 280. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 240 A” | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Magnum 280”; OECD test report 2979, 2016 | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 2005–2008 | 2005–2011 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Case-IH Magnum 280 has 19% more hydraulic flow (26.2 L/min / 6.9 gpm) than the Agco DT-240 A (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The Case-IH Magnum 280 is 40% heavier (3,660 kg / 8,069 lb) than the Agco DT-240 A (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- Transmissions differ in kind: the Agco DT-240 A is stepless (CVT) and the Case-IH Magnum 280 has 19 forward gears — not called.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the DT-240 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Magnum 280 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No call on PTO speeds: sources disagree on the PTO speeds of the Magnum 280.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources