Agco DT-220 A or John Deere 8400?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the DT-220 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8400 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Agco DT-220 A and John Deere 8400, with the call on each
QuestionDT-220 A8400Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?191.2 kW (256.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”191.4 kW (256.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the DT-220 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8400 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the DT-220 A and the 8400.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the DT-220 A and the 8400.
Which pumps more oil for implements?139.8 L/min (36.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 8400.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?6,644 kg (14,648 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”4,900 kg (10,803 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the DT-220 A: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”); the 8400: lift through the full range at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?9,240 kg (20,371 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”8,705 kg (19,191 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”16 forwardTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”DifferTransmissions differ in kind: the Agco DT-220 A is stepless (CVT) and the John Deere 8400 has 16 forward gears — not called.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the DT-220 A and the 8400.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”38 km/h (23.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000/540E rpmTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”AheadThe Agco DT-220 A offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the John Deere 8400 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2005–20081994–1998Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Agco DT-220 A is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Agco DT-220 A offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the John Deere 8400 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The Agco DT-220 A is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Transmissions differ in kind: the Agco DT-220 A is stepless (CVT) and the John Deere 8400 has 16 forward gears — not called.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the DT-220 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8400 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the DT-220 A: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO DT 220 A”); the 8400: lift through the full range at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources