AGCO-ALLIS 5650 or Case-IH CS-48 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 5650 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the CS-48 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for AGCO-ALLIS 5650 and Case-IH CS-48 (A), with the call on each
Question5650CS-48 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?35.3 kW (47.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”35.3 kW (47.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 5650 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the CS-48 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5650 and the CS-48 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 5650 and the CS-48 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?33.0 L/min (8.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”30.8 L/min (8.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,888 kg (4,162 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”2,220 kg (4,894 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 5650: lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”); the CS-48 (A): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,055 kg (4,530 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”2,360 kg (5,203 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH CS-48 (A) is 15% heavier (305 kg / 672 lb) than the AGCO-ALLIS 5650 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?—4,200 kg (9,259 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 5650.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”16Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5650 and the CS-48 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the CS-48 (A).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1994–19991996–2001EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH CS-48 (A) is 15% heavier (305 kg / 672 lb) than the AGCO-ALLIS 5650 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 5650 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the CS-48 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the 5650: lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “AGCO-Allis 5650”); the CS-48 (A): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS48/a”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources