Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S) or SOMECA 750 (TD)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Brillant 701 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 750 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 33% (750 kg / 1,653 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S) and SOMECA 750 (TD), with the call on each
QuestionBrillant 701 A (S)750 (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?55 kW (74 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S)”55.2 kW (74.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 750”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Brillant 701 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 750 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Brillant 701 A (S) and the 750 (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Brillant 701 A (S) and the 750 (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?27.5 L/min (7.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 750”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Brillant 701 A (S).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,000 kg (6,614 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S)”2,250 kg (4,960 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 750”AheadThe Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S) has 33% more lift (750 kg / 1,653 lb) than the SOMECA 750 (TD) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?3,730 kg (8,223 lb) to 3,820 kg (8,422 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S)”3,045 kg (6,713 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 750”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S) is 22% heavier (685 kg / 1,510 lb) than the SOMECA 750 (TD) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Brillant 701 A (S) and the 750 (TD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S)”7 to 14Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 750”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Brillant 701 A (S) and the 750 (TD).
Which is faster on the road?19.87 km/h (12.3 mph) to 27.15 km/h (16.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S)”24 km/h (14.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 750”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S)”540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 750”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Brillant 701 A (S) and the 750 (TD).
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S)”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 750”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1969–19701971–1976EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S) has 33% more lift (750 kg / 1,653 lb) than the SOMECA 750 (TD) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The Hanomag Brillant 701 A (S) is 22% heavier (685 kg / 1,510 lb) than the SOMECA 750 (TD) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Brillant 701 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 750 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources